First United Methodist Church, Eufaula
Saturday, January 19, 2019
Open Hearts, Open Minds, Open Doors


Board of Trustees
The Book of Discipline of The United Methodist Church - 2008

¶2524, page 717

Local Church Board of Trustees' Qualifications -  In each pastoral charge consisting of one local church, there shall be a board of trustees, consisting of not fewer than three nor more than nine persons, and it is recommended that at least one-third be laywomen and that at least one-third be laymen.  The trustees shall be of legal age as determined by law, and at least two-thirds shall be professing members of The United Methodist Church (see¶¶ 258.1,3; 2529).  No pastor is a voting member of the board of trustees unless elected as a member.

¶2525, page 171

Local Church Board of Trustees' Election - The members of the board of trustees shall be divided into three classes, and each class shall as nearly as possible consist of an equal number of members.  At the charge conference, on recommendation by the committee on nominations and leadership development or front he floor, it shall elect, to take office at the beginning of the ensuing calendar year or at such other times as the charge of church conference may set, to serve for a term of three years of until their successors have been duly elected and qualified, the required member of the trustees to succeed those of the class whose terms then expire: provided, however, that nothing herein shall be construed to prevent the election of a trustee to self-succession.6 the charge conference may assign the responsibility for electing trustees to a church conference.


Chairperson: Gary Pruess

Legal Adviser: Kay Wall


2017 2018 2019
Jim Sponsler  Gayle Cooke Chuck Clark
Jill Dew Gary Pruess David Conatser
Bill Gilbert Gene Robberson Martha McCracken